Is your PC spending too much electricity?

Few days ago I had the necessity to get the most out of my processor, what I needed at that moment was higher speed peer core, so I investigated a little about overclocking and finally I was able to increase from 3.6 GHz to 4.1 GHz all cores 🦾, (notice this was on a Ryzen 6 2400g which by default only reaches 3.6 on a single core while the rest works at 3.3 GHz) and the performance gaining was good it helped a lot, but I notice two things, first heat increased a lot, it was reaching 80-90 Celsius degrees... it was burning 🔥; second I had to raise the voltage to 1.42 which consumes more energy.

So the solution was obvious "get a bigger heat sink!", well I could but... I have three computers at home, and this fact changed my decision, plus I live in Mexico where salaries are lower and electronics are more expensive than in USA.

Well, I decided to go with a cost effective approach, so I did set the processor to 3.6 Ghz all cores with 1.9 v, this setup gave me higher speed(remember it was 3.6 for only one single core), less heat(it's on 50 C degrees on average almost 60 when processor is at 100% workload) and less energy, this last allow me to let the computer working on nights without spending much energy.

This small change doesn't seem a big deal, but if you multiply by three computer then it is.

You should check your PC energy settings, start by setting all cores at same speed, disabling auto boost and finally lowering the voltage little by little, after you change something start your windows OS and run a performance test with cinebench or linux stress tool, if the OS don't break then keep going until you hit the failure point and then adjust to a previous point, that's the sweet spot.

Note overclocking and energy settings can be found in your BIOS or UEFI, you can enter those by pressing key escape/sup/F12/F9/etc depending on your motherboard when you just turn on the computer.

Â